Message to Education Leaders: Our Digital Future Cannot Be Ignored

An announcement from last week:  The Independent Becomes the First Newspaper to Embrace a Global Digital Only Future.  The “youngest” of British newspapers, The Independent paper’s circulation is modest, the size of a US city newspaper.  But it reports that it’s online presence is profitable, with over 70 million worldwide users.  The newspaper, therefore, will concentrate resources on its online version, and be available only digitally by the end of March 2016.

Only a few days ago, I heard someone say, with reference to teaching, that we need to remember that not every student has a smartphone, and we, therefore, we cannot assume that they do.  I am very much in sympathy with this opinion, not having a smartphone myself.***  It is a certainty that many school districts cannot afford the resources to make sure all students have the digital devices they need for education, be they computers, tablets or smartphones.  However, I have always felt that these devices are imperative for education.  Our students need to have at the least an understanding of, and better yet, a facility with digital media in order to find employment, as well as to become good citizens.  The announcement from the British newspaper The Independent is, maybe not the first indication, but a big indication that the future is getting closer.  While some will certainly lose jobs in this switch, the newspaper also intends to hire more staff with the skills it will now need.  Journalism is only one profession in transition.  There are many making the same transition, and many more will come.

Predictions of the importance of digital media for education and for the future of our students have been made for many years.  The crux of the problem is resouces.  We can no longer run education on a shoestring.  We have disinvested in education for too long at all levels.  More resources are needed to bring schools up to a level that will secure our children’s future – resources not just for “devices” but for reform in our curriculum and proper training for teachers.  The future is here.

***I do not, however, want to be left behind in the digital age, and I do enjoy many things that web access affords me.  The way I have solved this dilemma is this:  I DO have a phone from which I can take calls and text, and I DO have a tablet that, other than phone functions, I use as others use a smartphone.  It works for me.

This entry was posted in new media, teaching, technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment